Archive for 01/14/2008

Meetings and Greetings

Posted in writing on 01/14/2008 by Susan Shay

I can’t tell you what a great weekend this has been. The RWI meeting rocked! BF Marilyn Pappano (www.marilyn-pappano.com) took over as prez. The woman has a killer sense of humor and, best of all, gets MY sense of humor, so it’s going to be a fun couple of years while she serves.

“Can’t we just make you president permanently?” I asked, remembering the number of people we’ve voted in to the job, then had them bow out.

“Only if you change the title.”

“Fine,” I answered. “Do I get to choose? I can think of some real good things to call you.”

She actually snorted at that one. “No. I get to choose. It’s got to be Princess of the Universe or something along that line.”

Hey, I’d call her “Queen of Everything” if she’d stay president from now on.

President Marilyn cracks up. See how much fun Marilyn has being president?

Since we were in the writers’ group that shall not be mentioned, we’ve always introduced ourselves and told what we were working on. Always. Forever. UGH! And, sadly, for most of us, that only changed once or twice a year. For some, it didn’t change for 4 or even 6 years. <G>

But wise Princess of the Universe thought of a new question. And, hopefully, we’ll come up with another one each month. I hate doing the same thing over and over. Don’t you?

Well, I hate doing most things over and over. Not all. 😉

Then we had a super speaker. Sherry Rowland of Two Sisters Promotions. Jaci Burton is a client (www.jaciburton.com) so Miss J came to the meeting to introduce her and add a bit of her experience.

Here they are together. Jaci and Sherry Aren’t they cute? They both were so good to share their knowledge.

I took copious notes on Sherry’s talk. I’d like to hire TSP when I sell my next book. (Yeah, I know it’s not sold. But what can I say? I’m an optimist!) But we’ll have to see. For now, I hope to put some of her suggestions into use and see if I can’t get a few more TO SCHOOL A COWBOY books out the door.

When I get my notes where they’re readable, I’ll share them with y’all.

More excitement: Today I heard from my editor on TSAC, Rhonda Penders. After we talked about some other business (1099s) she asked what I was working on, then said she’d like me to take a shot at The Wild Rose Press’s WAYBACK series.

I’m so jazzed! She wants me to write another one for her. I know it’s not a contract offer or even a promise, but hey. It’s wonderful! And once I get a handle on the “bible” (the setup for the series) I’ll send her a query and see if we can’t work something out.

I’d be walking on air if I snagged a contract with only a query.  

And the best thing is, it’s about rodeos. I LOVE rodeoes. My sweet DH will sometimes go with me to a rodeo or two in the area. I even like watching them on TV, and I don’t like any other sport on TV.

Keep your fingers crossed for me.

